UW–Madison Chemistry Students Named NSF Graduate Research Fellows

At this year’s American Chemical Society (ACS) Spring 2023 conference, nine graduate students from the Department of Chemistry at the University of Wisconsin–Madison were named National Science Foundation (NSF) Graduate Research Fellows through the NSF Graduate Research Fellowship Program (GRFP) and two Department of Chemistry graduate students were listed as honorable mentions.  

According to the NSF, the purpose of the program is “to ensure the quality, vitality, and diversity of the scientific and engineering workforce of the United States.” The GRFP goal is to broaden participation in science and engineering of underrepresented groups, including women, minorities, persons with disabilities, and veterans. 

The prestigious honor is a five-year fellowship providing three years of financial support inclusive of an annual stipend of $37,000.

The 2023 fellows from UW–Madison’s Department of Chemistry are:

Michaela Barber, Chemistry – Chemical Catalysis

Alana Rose Meyer, Chemistry – Chemical Catalysis

Alyssa Katherine Olszewski, Chemistry – Chemical Catalysis

Gerardo Javier Quintana Cintron, Chemistry – Chemical Catalysis

Maia N Bates, Chemistry – Chemical Measurement and Imaging

Zachary M Faitz, Chemistry – Chemical Measurement and Imaging

Uriel Arturo Garcia, Chemistry – Chemical Synthesis

Angel Ibarra – Life Sciences – Proteomics

Ryan P McDonnell, Materials Research – Quantum Information Science

Honorable mentions from the Department of Chemistry are:

Cade A MacAllister, Chemistry – Chemical Synthesis

David Janvrin Hood, Chemistry – Chemical Structure, Dynamics, and Mechanism