Schomaker among 13 new AAAS fellows from UW

Woman smiling
Prof. Jennifer Schomaker

Original story by Chris Barncard | UW Madison

Professor of Chemistry Jennifer Schomaker has been selected as an AAAS Fellow for distinguished contributions to organic chemistry through methods for catalyst-controlled C-H functionalization via nitrene transfer and complex amine synthesis employing unusual reactive intermediates.

Thirteen University of Wisconsin­–Madison scholars have been elected fellows of the American Association for the Advancement of Science.

This year, 564 scientists, engineers and innovators who are members of AAAS were chosen to be AAAS Fellows. The honor, presented annually since 1874, recognizes efforts to advance science and society, with the fellows expected to maintain the highest standards of scientific integrity and professional ethics.

“AAAS is proud to bestow the honor of AAAS Fellow to some of today’s brightest minds who are integral to forging our path into the future,” says Sudip Parikh, AAAS chief executive officer and executive publisher of the Science family of journals. “We celebrate these distinguished individuals for their invaluable contributions to the scientific enterprise.”

The class will be featured in the AAAS News & Notes section of Science this month. Each new fellow will receive an official certificate and pin to commemorate their election and will be celebrated later this year at an in-person gathering.

Learn more about all of the winners here.