Andrew McCammon is 2016-17 Hirschfelder Prize Recipient

Professor J. Andrew McCammon will receive the 2016-17 Joseph O. Hirschfelder Prize in Theoretical Chemistry, administered by the University of Wisconsin-Madison Theoretical Chemistry Institute (TCI).

McCammon is a professor of chemistry, biochemistry, and pharmacology at the University of California, San Diego, where he holds the Joseph E. Mayer Chair of Theoretical Chemistry. He also is a member of the National Academy of Sciences and a fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science and the American Academy of Arts and Sciences.

“Andy is one of the pioneers of biosimulation, and he has worked extensively in this area since the late 1970s,” says Professor and TCI Director James Skinner. “His work has been cited over 43,000 times — clearly his work has had an enormous impact.”

TCI established the Joseph O. Hirschfelder Prize in Theoretical Chemistry in 1991 in response to a generous bequest from Professor Joseph O. Hirschfelder (1911-90) and his widow, Dr. Elizabeth S. Hirschfelder. Over the course of his 40-year career, Professor Hirschfelder established himself as a leader in teaching, research, and public service at the university and in the broader research community. The award commemorates his role as a pioneering member of the theoretical chemistry field, beginning in the late 1930s.

McCammon will visit the UW-Madison Department of Chemistry Sept. 26-28 to deliver three public lectures in 1315 Chemistry Building:

  • Monday, Sept. 26 at 2 p.m.: “Computer-aided Drug Discovery”
  • Tuesday, Sept. 27 at 11 a.m.: “Biomolecular Thermodynamics”
  • Wednesday, Sept. 28 at 2 p.m.: “Biomolecular Kinetics”

Learn more about the Hirschfelder Prize.

Photo courtesy of UC San Diego