L&S Honors Three Chemistry Faculty and Staff

The College of Letters & Science recently recognized three outstanding Department of Chemistry faculty and staff members as part of the college’s annual award competition.

Dr. Desiree Bates, computational chemistry leader, received a 2014-15 College of Letters & Science Academic Staff Early Career Award. This award recognizes individuals who demonstrate outstanding performance, substantial promise of future contributions, and a high degree of professionalism. Bates joined the department in 2011. Her primary role is to train graduate students in computational chemistry and equip research groups to successfully employ computational methods as part of their diverse and unique research projects. She also co-founded and co-leads the annual CHOPs and PGSEC recruitment weekends for underrepresented minority students.

Professor Randall Goldsmith received a College of Letters & Science 2015 Distinguished Honors Faculty Award. Students nominate faculty members for the award, which is administered by the L&S Honors Program. The award serves to showcase faculty who have excelled in teaching honors courses, when advising honors students on thesis projects, or as teachers-mentors of honors students.

Dr. Jeanne Hamers, undergraduate chemistry director and chemistry major adviser, received a 2014-15 College of Letters & Science Academic Advising Award. This award recognizes the exemplary work of faculty and academic staff involved in providing vital advising services to students throughout the college. Hamers has served in her current role since 2012 and was previously a lecturer in the department. In addition to individually advising chemistry majors, prospective majors, and incoming freshmen, she oversees the Undergraduate Chemistry Office and seeks to further develop the student experience for undergraduate chemistry majors.

Learn more about College of Letters & Science staff awards.