Professor Shannon Stahl Earns Kellett Mid-Career Award

Nine members of the University of Wisconsin-Madison faculty have won Kellett Mid-Career Awards.

The Kellett awards recognize outstanding faculty seven to 20 years past their first promotion to a tenured position. The Office of theVice Chancellor for Research and Graduate Education chooses winners from professors nominated by departments, Ph.D. major programs and interdepartmental groups. A faculty member can win only one Kellett award.

Supported by the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation, the Kellett award provides $60,000 in research funding to faculty members at a critical stage of their careers. It is named for William R. Kellett, a former president of the WARF board of trustees and retired president of Kimberly-Clark Corp.

This year’s Kellett Award winners include:

Shannon Stahl, professor of chemistry, specializes in the chemistry of oxygen and the development of “green” methods for selective oxidation of organic chemicals in the pharmaceutical and agrochemical industries. His research also focuses on the chemistry of oxygen in renewable energy applications, such as fuel cells and solar energy conversion.

—Chris Barncard, University Communications