Theoretical/Computational Chemistry

Theoretical/Computational Faculty

Xuhui Huang

Credentials: Director, Theoretical Chemistry Institute

Position title: Hirschfelder Chair in Theoretical Chemistry, Professor of Chemistry

Email: xhuang448@wisc.edu

Our research is in the area of Theoretical Chemistry and Molecular Biophysics. The operation of biological molecules is a highly dynamic process that relies on numerous functional conformational changes. We are interested in elucidating the dynamics of these conformational changes by developing new methods based on statistical mechanics that can bridge the gap between experiments and atomistic molecular dynamics (MD) simulations.

Yuan Ping

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: yping3@wisc.edu

Yuan Ping received her B.Sc. degree from University of Science and Technology of China in 2007, Ph.D. from UC Davis in 2013, and materials postdoctoral fellow at Caltech in 2016. Afterward she was assistant professor in…

JR Schmidt

Position title: Professor of Chemistry, Associate Chair for the Undergraduate Program

Email: schmidt@chem.wisc.edu

Ned Sibert

Position title: Emeritus Professor of Chemistry

Email: sibert@chem.wisc.edu

Micheline Soley

Position title: Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Email: msoley@wisc.edu

EDUCATION PhD, Harvard 2020 Yale Quantum Institute Postdoctoral Fellow VIEW PUBLICATIONS RESEARCH DESCRIPTION Quantum Computing Algorithms and Exact Quantum Dynamics. A key problem in theoretical chemistry today is the “curse of dimensionality,” which refers to…

Reid Van Lehn

Position title: Associate Professor

Email: vanlehn@wisc.edu

B.S. and Ph.D., Materials Science and Engineering, Massachusetts Institute of Technology Position title: Hunt-Hougen Associate Professor of Chemical and Biological Engineering Associate Professor of Chemistry Reid is the Hunt-Hougen Associate Professor in the Department of…

Yang Yang

Position title: Assistant Professor of Chemistry

Email: yyang222@wisc.edu

Arun Yethiraj

Position title: V. W. Meloche-Bascom Professor of Chemistry

Email: yethiraj@chem.wisc.edu