Yoon, Gopalan Named Romnes Faculty Fellows

Professor Padma Gopalan

Professor Tehshik Yoon
Prof. Padma Gopalan Prof. Tehshik Yoon

Eight promising young members of the UW-Madison faculty have been honored with Romnes Faculty Fellowships.

Romnes awards recognize exceptional faculty members who have earned tenure within the last six years. Selected by a Graduate School committee, winners receive an unrestricted $50,000 award for research, supported by the Wisconsin Alumni Research Foundation (WARF).

The award is named for the late H. I. Romnes, former chairman of the board of AT&T and former president of the WARF Board of Trustees.

This year’s awardees include:

Padma Gopalan, professor of materials science and engineering and chemistry, focuses on the synthesis and assembly of polymers to fabricate nanoscale features for semiconductor electronics. Her work with polymer synthesis and surface functionalization has led to advances in materials for optical communications, biomaterials that influence the differentiation of stem cells, and ultrasensitive carbon nanotube hybrids that mimic human vision.

Tehshik Yoon, professor of chemistry, investigates more efficient and environmentally responsible ways to synthesize complex molecular structures. He has pioneered a strategy to construct chemical bonds using sunlight or similar sources of visible light, with long-term hopes that these reactions might improve the sustainability of chemical manufacturing.

Story by Chris Barncard, University Communications