Five UW-Madison Professors Named AAAS Fellows

The American Association for the Advancement of Science (AAAS) has elected five professors from the University of Wisconsin–Madison as AAAS Fellows.
They join 391 other fellows who have been recognized by their peers for significant contributions to their fields and the scientific endeavor as a whole.
UW–Madison’s honored professors are:
Amy Barger
Amy J. Barger, professor of astronomy, for important contributions to our understanding of the evolution of black holes and dust-obscured galaxies from the early universe to the present day.
John Berry
John F. Berry, professor of chemistry, for novel synthetic, spectroscopic, and computational approaches to structure and bonding in catalytically-relevant coordination compounds that are unstable, highly reactive, or show unusual properties.
Zhenqiang Ma
Zhenqiang (Jack) Ma, professor of electrical and computer engineering, for distinguished contributions to the field of flexible electronics, particularly for inventing fast flexible electronics, flexible optoelectronics and nanomembrane-based photonics.
Jeanette Robers
Jeanette C. Roberts, professor of pharmacy, for distinguished contributions to the field of chemoprevention and chemoprotection, for sustained service to AAAS, and for excellence in administrative contributions as dean until 2013 of the UW–Madison School of Pharmacy.
Lydia Zepeda
Lydia Zepeda, professor of consumer science, for research, teaching, and outreach in agricultural economics, including innovative studies of consumer views of agricultural products and their food preferences.
AAAS, the world’s largest general scientific society, has elected distinguished members as fellows since 1874. This year’s fellows will be honored at the organization’s annual meeting on Feb. 17, 2018, in Austin, Texas.