Bowman, Block, TAs Receive Teaching Awards

Matt Bowman, lecturer, and Stephen Blockassistant general chemistry lab director, have been awarded the 2015-16 Taylor Excellence in Teaching Award.

 Matt Bowman (left) and Stephen Block (right)

There will be an award ceremony on Friday, December 11 at 3:30 p.m. in Seminar Hall to honor Bowman and Block. Endowed by the Pharmacia Corporation in 2002, the award was created in honor of Professor Emeritus James Taylor. Prior to that, Celanese, Hoechst-Celanese, Pharmacia, and Pharmacia-Upjohn supported the award at various points in time.

The ceremony will also serve to honor recipients of the Outstanding Chemistry Teaching Assistant Awards. The awards committee has selected two sets of teaching assistants and faculty assistants to be acknowledged at this year’s ceremony to compensate for the lack of a ceremony last year.

The 2013-14 list of recipients includes Ben Dunnington, Chris Jordan, Megan Livingston, Matt Stolt, Valerie Tripp, Michael Tylinski, and Anastasiya Vinokur.

The recipients being honored for the 2014-15 academic year are Manar Alherech, Eric Cueny, Greg Eyer, Reb Pinhancos, Sarah Specht, Lindsay Stoll, and Kelly Suralik.

“Congratulations to these TAs and FAs," says Matt Sanders, executive director. "And our thanks to them and to all the TAs who help Chemistry to deliver a high-quality education to our students."